A first OWI in Iowa is a serious misdemeanor. If convicted, you may face a minimum of 48 hours in jail (up to one year), fines and license revocation for 180 days to one year. The fine will be about $1,250.
A second OWI conviction is elevated to an aggravated misdemeanor. If convicted, you may face a minimum of seven days in jail (up to two years), larger fines and license revocation for a year. You may also have to install an interlock device on your car for the year following your license reinstatement. The fine for your second OWI will be about $1,875.
A third OWI in Iowa is a Class D felony. After a third or any following OWI conviction, the offender is looking at a minimum of 30 days in jail (up to five years), large fines and license revocation for six years. Fines for a third OWI will be about $3,125.
If there is any personal injury involved in an OWI, a year is added to the license revocation. If a death occurs, homicide by vehicle charges (a Class B felony) will accompany the OWI.