What’s the Difference Between Felonies & Misdemeanors?
Like many other states, Iowa has tiered levels of penalties for criminal offenses. These offenses are first classified as either a misdemeanor or felony and then by their severity. More severe crimes are felonies, while less severe are misdemeanors. Read on to learn more about felonies, misdemeanors and their consequences.
Felonies in Iowa
Felonies in Iowa are classified into four classes — A, B, C and D.
Class A Felonies
The most serious felony, Class A felonies are punishable by life in prison without the possibility of parole. Murder is a Class A felony.
Class B Felonies
Class B felonies are punishable by up to 25 years in prison. First-degree burglary is an example of a class B felony.
Class C Felonies
Class C felonies are punishable by up to 10 years in prison and a fine of $1,000 to $10,000. For class C felonies committed after July 15, 2020, the fine ranges between $1,370 and $13,660. Assaults that are intended to and do cause serious injury are class C felonies.
Class D Felonies
The least serious of the felony classes in Iowa, Class D felonies are punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine of $750 to $7,500. For class D felonies committed after July 15, 2020, the fine ranges from $1,025 and $10,245. Second-degree theft is a class D felony.
Misdemeanors in Iowa
Misdemeanors in Iowa are classified as aggravated, serious and simple.
Aggravated misdemeanors in Iowa are punishable by up to two years in jail and a fine of between $625 and $6,250. For aggravated misdemeanors committed after July 15, 2020, the fine ranges between $855 and $8,540. A second OWI can be considered an aggravated misdemeanor.
A serious misdemeanor in Iowa is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of between $315 and $1,875. For serious misdemeanors committed after July 15, 2020, the fine ranges between $430 and $2,560. Theft of property valued between $200 and $500 is a serious misdemeanor.
A serious misdemeanor in Iowa is punishable by 30 days in jail and a fine of $65 to $625. For simple misdemeanors committed after July 15, 2020, the fine ranges between $105 and $855. Possession of drug paraphernalia is a simple misdemeanor.
Both misdemeanors and felonies can severely impact your life. If you are facing criminal charges in Des Moines, contact our law office to set up a free consultation today.